Felony Assault Defense Lawyer

Felony Assault Defense Lawyer

St. Paul Defense Lawyer for Assault Charges

Assault has a fairly wide legal definition. Simple assault does not even require physical contact, while assault can also include very serious crimes like assault with a deadly weapon or sexual assault.

If you have been charged with felony assault, it’s important to work with an experienced defense lawyer to mitigate the effect the charge has on your life. Felony assault carries serious penalties if you are found guilty. You need a serious defense to protect your freedom and your future. Contact my office today to learn how we can help you.

Degrees of Assault in Minnesota

There are five degrees of assault charges in Minnesota. They range from petty misdemeanors to felonies. The levels of assault are determined by level of injury to the victim of the assault, whether or not the person accused used a weapon and if the victim of the assault was under the age of 18. Regardless of what degree you have been accused of, you need a serious defense. The penalties for any assault charge can lead to

  • Fines
  • Jail time (up to 20 years for 1st Degree)
  • Probation
  • Loss of the ability to own a firearm
  • Difficulty finding employment

First degree assault is the most serious assault charge and is used when the defendant is accused of an assault that caused great bodily harm to the victim. First degree assault is a felony and carries a maximum penalty of up to 20 years and a fine of up to $30,000.

Degree Class Max Jail Max Fine Definition
First Felony 20 Years $30,000 Involves great bodily harm caused to the victim
Second Felony 7 Years $14,000 Involves use of a weapon. Involves "substantial"bodily harm.
Third Felony 5 Years $10,000 Typically used when the victim is under 18, Pattern of child abuse
Fourth Felony or Gross Misdemeanor 1 Year $3,000 Victim was on the job (police, school officials, transit operators) or may involve vulnerable adults.
Fifth Misdemeanor 90 Days $1,000 “Simple Assault” but also does not even require physical contact.


Domestic Assault

An assault that happens between family members or people who live together is classified as a domestic assault, and they can carry more serious consequences. If you are convicted of domestic assault the judge can (and very often will) suspend your right to own a firearm. Even in the case of a misdemeanor assault, which may only involve yelling or threats, you can still lose your right to own a gun. If you are convicted of domestic assault and have another assault on your record in the past 10 years the consequences can be dramatically higher. Do not take risks with your freedom. Rely on a defense attorney who will work tirelessly to get you the best possible result.

Contact an Experienced Felony Defense Lawyer Today

The lawyers at Mark D. Kelly Criminal Defense have been helping people accused of a crime in Minnesota for over 25 years. When you call, you can count on clear and timely communication. If you choose to hire our firm to represent you, we will be available to answer questions and help you through the entire legal process.

Contact Us Today

We Look Forward to Helping you Resolve Your Issue.
Contact Us Today to Take the First Step

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.